Leave a comment

We Belong: Love for the Unicorn Community

When I first moved to Evanston from New York City what made me fall in love with the Unicorn was the sense of community and belonging I felt there while sipping my cup of coffee.  It was such juxtaposition from the cold fast pace I had left in New York and it was very cathartic.   As our society relies more and more heavily on social networking and “virtual” contact I find this daily interaction with others even more meaningful.  Last week on my bike ride to work I realized I had a smile on my face and it was because I was thinking of all the people I was going to get to interact with during the day.  Believe it or not, us baristas notice you, hear you and like you (even you difficult ones).  When I am on vacation I often wonder what Joe is up to, or how Gary is doing quitting smoking or if Mocha Bill likes his new job.  I believe it is important for people to feel a sense of community and I am very grateful to the patrons of the Unicorn for providing that.

Leave a Reply

